Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings

Growing up my grandmother always made chicken and dumplings.  I remember being in the kitchen with her as she made the dough, rolled it out and cut her dumplings.  Flour all over the counter and us.  Then to smell them cooking in the pot until lunch time was the BEST!  The entire house smelt amazing.

My grandmother turned me onto chicken and dumplings and now that she is older she can’t make them anymore, so when I make this it takes me back.  Might not be home made and definitely isn’t as good as grandma’s but it is really close. (Nothing is ever as good as mom or grandma made it from scratch, lets me honest). My entire family loves this dish.  Super easy and delicious.

Ingredients

  • 3-4 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast
  • 4 Tbsp butter
  • 4 cans of Cream of Chicken Soup or 2 large cans
  • 2  – 14.5 oz cans chicken broth
  • 4 Tbsp. dried, diced onion
  • 2 Tbsp dried parsley
  • 8 flaky grands biscuits

Directions

Place your chicken breasts in the crock pot.  Place butter on each piece of chicken.  Mix the Cream of Chicken and Chicken Broth together and pour over the breasts.  Add in your dried parsley and onion.  Cover and cook on low 5-6 hours or until breasts are cooked.

One hour before ready to serve, cut your biscuits into strips.  I cut mine 3 down and 2 across so I end up with 9 dumplings per biscuit.  Place in the crock pot and stir around. Cover and cook one more hour then serve.

20151002_192134

I hope you enjoy…here is the Original Post to the recipe I found on Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

